Wheat Avoidance List
What is a Wheat Allergy?
Let’s start from the beginning. Researchers estimate up to 15 million Americans have food allergies. A wheat allergy is among the most common food allergies. This is a serious issue because every 3 minutes, a food allergy reaction sends someone to the emergency department. That is more than 200,000 emergency department visits per year.
What’s wrong with modern wheat?
We have mutant seeds, grown in synthetic soil, bathed in chemicals. They’re deconstructed, pulverized to fine dust, bleached and chemically treated to create a barren industrial filler that no other creature on the planet will eat. And we wonder why it might be making us sick?
You can find more of the story at Grainstorm Heritage Baking
Reactions to wheat can vary widely ranging anywhere from eczema to gastrointestinal symptoms to hives and even anaphylaxis. You might not even know you have a wheat allergy. But, if you have symptoms like I already mentioned or; stomach or digestive issues, respiratory issues, itching in your mouth or throat, these are all signs that say you should get these checked out from your doctor. Ask if you have a wheat allergy or something in this family of illnesses.
Wheat Allergy vs. Celiac Disease
An allergy to wheat is different than Celiac disease. A wheat allergy generates an allergy-causing antibody to proteins found in wheat. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the small intestine reacts to the ingestion of gluten, a protein that is predominantly found in wheat, barley, rye and sometimes oats. Bread usually contain wheat unless specified.
How we can help you
People with a wheat allergy often find it easier to follow a gluten-free diet. That is why we have ALL our recipes “FREE OF” gluten and wheat. Check out our Farr Better Recipes®
Here’s a wonderful wheat avoidance list I refer to for shopping: Kids with Food Allergies Wheat Allergy Avoidance List. This is one list of several I refer too.
Wheat can be found in many foods including some you might not expect, such as beer, soy sauce, artificial flavoring, natural flavoring, and ketchup.
The good news is I have found many products that are wheat-free and taste wonderful. So you don’t have to feel left out or left without your favorite foods. In the Farr Better Recipes®, I make them taste better than the original recipe. We help you make this lifestyle transition a smooth one that doesn’t need to be overwhelming. All my suggested food choices are free of multiple dietary restrictions. They don’t make us feel like we are missing out on anything.
Know how to read the ingredient labels
Read ingredient labels carefully. Wheat has been found in some brands of ice cream, marinara sauce, play dough, potato chips, rice cakes, turkey patties and hotdogs. I know it’s in a lot of things, but you and your body will be happy you eliminated it.
During our shopping tours and training sessions, we show you how to read the labels and what to look for and to be cautious of. Sign up to learn more: Consultations/Tours
The short version of the Food Allergen Labeling Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA)
The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) became law in 2004. This law ensures that there would be clearer labeling of food for the millions of people with food allergies. FALCPA went into effect on January 01, 2006.
FALCPA updates the labeling requirements for all food products regulated by the FDA. FALCPA requires that foods are labeled to identify the eight major food allergens. The eight major allergens are milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, and soybeans. These 8 major food allergens identified by FALCPA account for over 90 percent of all documented food allergies in the U.S.
The law also requires that the following be on the food label:
- The specific type of nut (e.g. almond, pecans, walnut, coconut).
- The specific type of fish (e.g. bass, flounder, Pollack).
- The specific type of crustacean shellfish (e.g. lobster, shrimp, crab).
Molluscan shellfish do not have to be labeled in this manner. Mollusks include oysters, clams, mussels, or scallops. They are not considered a major food allergen.
For a look at the complete law, click on Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004
Feel free to leave a comment or ask questions about this information.